Word Play

21 neat things I want to do on my personal blog

I may not be a newbie to blogging for clients, but I do consider myself a newbie to blogging for me. Having a (relatively) fresh website means my mind is buzzing with a million ideas for how to make it what I want my space on the tiny internet to be.

I’ve been reading around for inspiration on things you can do on your personal page, and I think I’ve nailed down a few that I want to get done for this one.

  1. Post more blogs, more regularly! This is a big one. I adore writing, and my brainbox is bursting with ideas, but I struggle with sticking to a schedule when life gets busy.
  2. Personalise my dashboard
  3. Add a 404 page
  4. Learn more CSS. (It’s really fulfilling when you know how to do the thing without needing a template.)
  5. Compile a list of useful CSS snippets for new bear bloggers
  6. Add links to other bear blogs that I love in my published blogs
  7. Write a blog post in response to another blog post
  8. Display a random favourite quote on my home page
  9. Add more comprehensive writing tutorials
  10. Write a page of nice alternatives to existing idioms
  11. Make a fun infographic
  12. Make fun of an infographic
  13. Use all my favourite kaomoji in a single blog
  14. Write an entire blog without using a specific letter
  15. Write an entire blog only using a particular set of letters
  16. Write a piece that could work as a cypher
  17. Invent a nonsense word and write a blog on its etymology
  18. Compile a list of PC games with great writing
  19. Compile a list of my all-time favourite books
  20. Write about my relationship with music
  21. Archive my site on the WayBack machine

(I may not get to all of them immediately, but it's certainly very comforting to have a list set out in front of me.)

Finally, here are a few delightfully versatile Bear blogs I love that might inspire you to do some interesting things for your own blog:



#writing